The Sporum - The Official Spore Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
[Login] Login 
MOD to rotate base building/roof parts ** VERSION 2  XML
Forum Index » Creator Corner
Author Message
thunderpants


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 01/01/2010 22:13:43
Messages: 2530
Location:
Over there... No not there, over there on your left... Your other left!

Offline

Does it work with patch 6?

Just wondering?


I... really... love... ellipsises... they... are... like... awesome... really...(Thanks you to everyone who has made me a Sig! Especially Biosigs!)
DVDMaster


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 05/12/2009 22:00:32
Messages: 2139
Offline

Andeavor wrote:The package files are in the same directory, so I don't see a problem there.

I can't seem to find this folder and these files, though:

\buildingeditortemplates\#3A841CD1.prop.xml
\buildingeditortemplates\#9C141C9E.prop.xml

Either I'm missing a directory path or CIDER swallows some of the files to prevent crashing the emulation.


On the first tab of SporeMaster, you specify which spore files should be unpacked. The default sporemaster install just has to specify the locations of
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\SPORE\Data\Spore_Game.package
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\SPORE\Data\Locale\en-us\Text.package
I add additional files:
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\SPORE\Data\PatchData.package
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\SPORE\Data\Spore_Pack_03.package
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\SPORE_EP1\Data\EP1_PatchData.package
It maybe that you need to add these 3 additional files. Sporemaster unpacks all these files and uses the results to populate the folder/file tree seen on the left panel of the files tab.

Also, depending on the sporemaster version, the "buildingeditortemplate" folder may have a different name. your best bet would be to add the files above and then search for modelRotationRingXAxisAllowHidden




[WWW]
DVDMaster


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 05/12/2009 22:00:32
Messages: 2139
Offline

thunderpants wrote:Does it work with patch 6?
Just wondering?


It works on my system:
Windows XP + Windows 7 - 64 bit
Spore + C&C + GA + Dr. Pepper Parts + all patches.

You will have to test other combination.
I seen posts that that it does NOT work with:
- any MAC version
- core spore (no GA)


[WWW]
Rebecca1208


GalacticGod

Joined: 10/16/2008 22:24:09
Messages: 10153
Location:
YOU DUN GOOFED!

Offline

Works well on mine, and I have every pack, plus a few mods, on Windows Vista.

But yeah. Brilliant work Master. I forgot I downloaded it, so I tested it out today, and it works perfectly. A real time-saver.

[WWW]
AaronMk


GalacticGod

Joined: 05/11/2009 19:18:43
Messages: 18393
Location:
Watching through my Goggles.

Offline

DVDMaster wrote:Update:
Totat Base/roof parts version 2
http://www.mediafire.com/file/mmiojn2kiqm/dvd_BuildingRotation_v2.package

This should fix the problem with adding doors (I've removed the extra rotation handles on doors).


Sweet. So I shouldn't have any crashes with this? Or at least with doors and the like.

I'll download it later and remove the old version.

OTC | Youtube | Steam|RSBC | The DNR club | DA | ECF | | Unban the ECF forever
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
DVDMaster


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 05/12/2009 22:00:32
Messages: 2139
Offline


Are there any other changes people would like to see with the building or vehicle editors?

Give me a wish list and I'll see what I can do.

One self imposed limit is that I want to make sure that the creations created with these mods do not crash computers that don't have the mod installed. Spore is buggy enough without people creating content that crashes the game.

[WWW]
banzaibill96


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 03/20/2009 14:36:11
Messages: 3733
Offline

DVDMaster wrote:
Are there any other changes people would like to see with the building or vehicle editors?

Give me a wish list and I'll see what I can do.

One self imposed limit is that I want to make sure that the creations created with these mods do not crash computers that don't have the mod installed. Spore is buggy enough without people creating content that crashes the game.

Can you make it so that, in the spaceship editor, you can move the "base" pieces? You know, the pieces in the first tab on the left?

DVDMaster


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 05/12/2009 22:00:32
Messages: 2139
Offline

banzaibill96 wrote:
Can you make it so that, in the spaceship editor, you can move the "base" pieces? You know, the pieces in the first tab on the left?

That is the first thing I tried. It doesn't work (yet). GA crashes as soon as you drag a "base" piece off the palette. I'm not sure if you have to do something to turn on symmetry for the base parts. It is kind of like trying to create a creature with two spines.


[WWW]
banzaibill96


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 03/20/2009 14:36:11
Messages: 3733
Offline

Ah, okay. I was just throwing that out there

Maybe you could do it with the cockpits then?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/15/2010 23:45:24


AaronMk


GalacticGod

Joined: 05/11/2009 19:18:43
Messages: 18393
Location:
Watching through my Goggles.

Offline

Product of the mod:



I think the mod works rather well. Although, the game has been lying to me on whether or not something has shared. It'll tell me the creation was not successfully shared, but yet it would have the icon and the comment box. Also happened with a creature I just shared, but that went through successfully.

Although, as of yet I haven't played around long enough with the mod on to tell. I really just made this and something else and then decided I had enough fun on Spore for the evening.

OTC | Youtube | Steam|RSBC | The DNR club | DA | ECF | | Unban the ECF forever
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
Rebecca1208


GalacticGod

Joined: 10/16/2008 22:24:09
Messages: 10153
Location:
YOU DUN GOOFED!

Offline

I asked Davo about making a freedom crack, but I've not heard from him for a while now for it, I think he's busy with other projects.

If it's possible, can you make a mod that either greatly extends or cracks the complexity metre in any editor, preferably creature, please? I know that means we can't share creations, but it's something I've been searching for months, but none of the current cracks are compatible with GA ^^'

[WWW]
LoZ4ever


Multicellular

Joined: 05/26/2010 13:29:43
Messages: 405
Location:
Trouble with Spore. D=

Offline

I couldn't get it the mod to work on core spore, so I'm going to try GA, even though i don't play it much.
EDIT: i did get it to work with GA

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/16/2010 13:35:16


sciocont


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 04/23/2009 01:33:10
Messages: 1815
Location:
It's a reference to my spore empire that nobody cares about! LOL

Offline

Wow- the building editor might finally be usable! I <3 this.
How does one install?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/16/2010 13:42:42


[WWW]
AaronMk


GalacticGod

Joined: 05/11/2009 19:18:43
Messages: 18393
Location:
Watching through my Goggles.

Offline

There's a link to how to install a mod in the OP. But essentially just drag and drop the file after downloading it into the Spore data files. I think its C>Program Files>Electronic Arts>Spore_EP1>Data

That's for Windows at least. And it might be slightly different depending on the user.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/16/2010 15:52:29


OTC | Youtube | Steam|RSBC | The DNR club | DA | ECF | | Unban the ECF forever
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
HabaneroArrow


Civilized Sporeon

Joined: 11/05/2009 23:31:39
Messages: 2651
Offline

sciocont wrote:Wow- the building editor might finally be usable! I <3 this.
How does one install?
This is what I do:
1. After downloading, save to file.
2. A list of recent downloads should show up. Right click on the correct file and and choose "open containing folder."
3. Drag to desktop
4. Go to “My Documents” and paste this: C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\SPORE_EP1\data
5. Drag and drop into the folder

This only works for Windows, though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/16/2010 22:30:58


[WWW]
 
Forum Index » Creator Corner
Go to:   
 
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © ( EA Dev Build 2016-08-15 15:16:49 ) JForum Team