The Sporum - The Official Spore Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
[Login] Login 
Sporenament Beta  XML
Forum Index » Developer Corner
Author Message
JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

Current version: 0.0.1

I wanted to start a thread to talk about any defects you might find in Sporenament.

Feel free to post about anything you see that isn't right, or that you would like to see added. The exe can be found here:
http://www.sporenament.com/webinterface

---------------------------
Known Defects
---------------------------
There is an associated webpage for Sporenament, but it is incoplete at the moment. In fact, it only has a help page, and some example pages as to what will be in each page.

There is a problem (I think with the RANDOM REST feed which returns repeated results. If it is, I will put a defect in for the Maxis guys to look at.) Thanks CrimsonCoder and Bryann

App doesn't seem to shut itself down properly when clicking the X. Thanks Bryann

Clicking Level 2, then Level 1 Sporenaments hides the window without any way of getting it back. Thanks Bryann

Blank (or missing) assets cause Sporenament to crash. Thanks Crimson Coder

Multiple copies of Sprenament open at same time can lead to unearned Spoints and Byes. Thanks Nethellus and Crimson Coder <Possible fix: version 0.0.2>

Memory leak issue. Thanks Crimson Coder.

Blank assets. Thanks Crimson Coder.

---------------------------
Things I would like to add
---------------------------
I would like to be able to have you right click a creation and have you add a comment right from Sporenament.
I would like to have you be able to right click a creation and rate up (or down) a creation right from Sporenament.
In Level 2 or 3, I would like to have you be able to see which user picked a creation as the winner.
I would like to be able to filter the Level 1 creations which are rated higher than normal if you earn a certain number of Spoints.
I would like to add the ability to search for creations when you earn a certain numbr of Spoints.
I would like to eventually add Sporenament Badges (or Achievements)
Require the login to pass a version number in order to authenticate. <Possible fix: version 0.0.2>
Allow the user to scroll through tips on login page <Possible fix: version 0.0.2>

---------------------------
Some text from the help page (and a little bit about what Sporenament is)
---------------------------
Pit 16 RANDOM creations in a "level 1 tournament". Pick the creature you like best... Maybe it's colorful, maybe it's cute, maybe it's scary, maybe it's just really well done... You be the judge as to why it makes it to the end. A level 1 Winner has beat 16 other creations to make it to Level 2

A winner of a Level 1 Sporenament will be eligible for a Level 2 Sporenament. This time, 8 creations (only Level 1 winners) will be put into a tournament. If a creation wins Level 2, it has been deemed better than 128 other creations (16 level 1 * 8 level 2). Those will be eligible for a Level 3 Sporenament.
In a Level 3 Sporenament, 4 (Level 2 winners) will be pitted against each other. Same rules as before, pick what you like. If a creation is a Level 3 winner it has been deemed better than 512 (128 Level 2 * 4 Level 3) other creations.

You can right click any creation and save it to your hard drive (so that you can import it into Spore at a later time, View the Author's other creations (if you see something you like, maybe the author has done something else you might like), View the Spore Page for the Creation (so that you can leave a comment), or Visit the Author's Profile page.

You can visit the Sporenament Stats page (this isn't done yet, but a shell page is there for now), the page will describe some of the things that I will do.

Each time you pick a winner (or if you are lucky enough to be chosen as a winner by someone else), you are awarded Spoints. You use those Spoints to get to play other levels of Sporenament (Level 1 is free, the others cost Spoints).

If you complete a Level 3 Sporenament, you will be awarded a Bye.
With your Bye, you can choose one of your creations and have them eligilble for a Level 2 Sporenament. The cool thing is that if someone picks your creation as the winner of a Level 2 Sporenament, you will be awarded extra Spoints and get on the Leaderboard.

This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 04/28/2009 17:16:20

MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

It would be awesome to show winners of various Sporenaments shown on a webpage.
markiem32


MouthBreather

Joined: 09/12/2008 07:27:32
Messages: 512
Location:
San Diego, CA

Offline

Yesterday, when I got to the "BYE" Screen, it didn't pollinate with my creatures. I may have made a mistake with my Spore user id with the first login I created -- the windows for selecting things appears empty -- if I hit the "next 18" or "previous 18" button the following error message comes up:

"Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click Continue, thhe application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately. Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

If I could edit my user login in some way, then I could make sure I got my user id correct.

To test my misseplled-user id theory, I created a second login and paid close attention to making sure I input it correctly. Last night I was receiving the same error -- but this morning the 2nd Sporenament login seems to be allowing me to "Bye" the way you intended.

I have noticed that it doesn't matter if you click on the "save login" checkbox in the login screen -- the program saves that data no matter what.

I'm really liking this little app, and hope you'll get the time to take it past Beta -- think it could be popular. I'm wondering though -- I'd love to see something like this that doesn't identify the Creator name until after the rounds are done. That way, people are really making their choices based on the creation, and not on loyalty to a particular creator.

Anyhow... I'm having fun with it... congrats on your app winning 3rd place!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 04/22/2009 17:12:28

CrimsonCoder


Microbe

Joined: 09/10/2008 23:54:32
Messages: 8
Offline

Hey, I really like this program. One major problem I have found so far is that clicking on the 'x' does NOT close the program. Yes, it makes it disappear but it is still running. If you continue to open it, you now have many copies running on your computer. One of the first things you do should be setting the whole program to close when the main window is closed.

Also, (I'll go looking again for the exact cause) the main window sometimes disappears after you click on the type of sporenament you want to do. This causes you to be unable to do anything and leads to the same problem as before where the program is running but doesn't have any windows.

aim icon
bryann


Microbe

Joined: 09/12/2008 13:39:23
Messages: 5
Offline

I'm having the same issues CrimsonCoder is:

1. I haven't found a way to exit the app that really exits it; it just closes the visible window but leaves the app running in the background

2. I can do level 1 tournaments repeatedly without issue, but if I do a level 2, and then try to do a level 1, the active window disappears (but the app is still running in the background).

In addition to that, I'm getting a lot of repeated content. I mostly do level 1s, and almost every tournament has at least one repeat of a creature I saw in a previous level 1 tournament. Some creations I've seen dozens of times.
BugSquash


Multicellular

Joined: 09/29/2008 05:09:06
Messages: 146
Location:
Baylor University

Offline

Would it be possible to provide a version that does not use MSI? WINE (which is used to run Windows apps on Linux and Mac OS X) has problems with MSI, which makes it difficult for non-Windows users to try your app.

[WWW]
JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

BugSquash wrote:Would it be possible to provide a version that does not use MSI? WINE (which is used to run Windows apps on Linux and Mac OS X) has problems with MSI, which makes it difficult for non-Windows users to try your app.


Bug Squash.

No guarentees, but try the setup.exe here ->
http://cid-282f8a7525d6267d.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Sporenament%20Contest/setup.exe

Let me know if that works (you can PM me or just reply here)... I don't have Wine for Linux so I can't test it
JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

bryann wrote:I'm having the same issues CrimsonCoder is:

1. I haven't found a way to exit the app that really exits it; it just closes the visible window but leaves the app running in the background

2. I can do level 1 tournaments repeatedly without issue, but if I do a level 2, and then try to do a level 1, the active window disappears (but the app is still running in the background).

In addition to that, I'm getting a lot of repeated content. I mostly do level 1s, and almost every tournament has at least one repeat of a creature I saw in a previous level 1 tournament. Some creations I've seen dozens of times.


Thanks Bryann..
I've updated the running log with your findings.
I've noticed the repeated content as well... I think I'll post about it for the Maxis guys here. I think it's a defect in the RANDOM call.

Thanks
Nethellus


MouthBreather

Joined: 09/13/2008 03:37:31
Messages: 738
Offline

You really should not allow more than one instance of the program running. By running several instances at once, I managed to get to -169 spoints and -36 byes.

JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

Nethellus wrote:You really should not allow more than one instance of the program running. By running several instances at once, I managed to get to -169 spoints and -36 byes.


Wow! Really? I'll have to get on this sooner than later
CrimsonCoder


Microbe

Joined: 09/10/2008 23:54:32
Messages: 8
Offline

EDIT:
He didn't mention it, but how he did this was by having multiple copies at the "play" screen that all knew he had x amount of buys and spoints. He then tells all of them to spend a certain amount and your database never realizes that he had negative amounts. It may be a small thing, but good job on limiting the number of characters allowed for a user name. be glad things didn't break with a really long name.

Also, I haven't been able to duplicate it, but I was able to really break the game. I made it so that there were missing creations. I loaded two sporenaments at a time, but I'm not sure if this is what caused it. I could not select the only available choice because there was no other choice.
http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o53/CrimsonCoder/spornament2.jpg
(linked for large picture)


Edit 2: Ok, I was able to simulate the problem with only one copy of the program actually running.
It did not load all of the creatures. This should be an invalid state, but isn't.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 04/26/2009 20:03:10


aim icon
JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

Crimson Coder:

Well done bud! You are finding these things like my best tester at work. I'll add these to the list. I'd say I'd give you some byes for your hard work, but with that other defect out there... may not be much of an incentive to finding stuff
CrimsonCoder


Microbe

Joined: 09/10/2008 23:54:32
Messages: 8
Offline

JoeyBagOfDonuts wrote:Crimson Coder:

Well done bud! You are finding these things like my best tester at work. I'll add these to the list. I'd say I'd give you some byes for your hard work, but with that other defect out there... may not be much of an incentive to finding stuff



Well one of the most import parts of writing a program is to break it. I couldn't call myself a programmer if I wasn't able to break software.


EDIT:
I also think I know why there are missing creations. If the connection drops, it doesn't reload the creation or something to that effect. no, I don't know how you actually coded anything, but I do know that having intermittent internet breaks your program. This certainly shouldn't be the case. What you should do is make a check that there is a creation for all the first part of the bracket. If there isn't, reload one. That would work, right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 04/27/2009 00:09:42


aim icon
JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

CrimsonCoder wrote:
I also think I know why there are missing creations. If the connection drops, it doesn't reload the creation or something to that effect. no, I don't know how you actually coded anything, but I do know that having intermittent internet breaks your program. This certainly shouldn't be the case. What you should do is make a check that there is a creation for all the first part of the bracket. If there isn't, reload one. That would work, right?


I'll defintly check that as a possibility. Thanks again!
CrimsonCoder


Microbe

Joined: 09/10/2008 23:54:32
Messages: 8
Offline

Another question, how do you plan on informing people you made a new version and even forcing them to change? You can't let people continue to use the previous version because it is so easily exploitable. I'm guessing you have no way of telling users messages at any point of the program, do you? The only thing I can think of is not letting previous versions log in (add a step to the authentication with the server so that the log-in step won't work. This way you'd only need to change it once since if you can't log in, the rest of the program isn't an issue anymore.)

The problem is still how do you let them know there is a new version at that point? All they would know is that things aren't working unless you can display a message, which I'm guessing can't be done. Hindsight is 20/20, isn't it?

aim icon
 
Forum Index » Developer Corner
Go to:   
 
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © ( EA Dev Build 2013-06-21 16:12:06 ) JForum Team