The Sporum - The Official Spore Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
[Login] Login 
d3dx9_27.dll error, Can not run Spore Vista  XML
Forum Index » Spore Help
Author Message
bakersx3


Microbe

Joined: 12/20/2008 21:47:53
Messages: 6
Offline

I bought Spore for my daughter and installed it on a new HP touch 2.0 GHZ dual core, 4 GB RAM, 384 MB video (965 Chipset) and can not get it running.
I have installed and uninstalled it 5 times. It gets to the DirectX install and craps out (I have 10X on there now). Once I try to run it, it has a DLL error and quits. I have downloaded the most current patch but can not get it to run.
Is it a Spore issue, or a Vista issue.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 12/22/2008 04:20:33

hattrickster


Spacefaring Sporeling

Joined: 10/31/2008 23:13:06
Messages: 5213
Offline

I can't see it being a vista issue as it runs on my vista perfectly fine.

aim icon
bakersx3


Microbe

Joined: 12/20/2008 21:47:53
Messages: 6
Offline

I am wondering what is the deal then. I have just now uninstalled it and removed all folders.
It runs fine on my Mac with my copy.
We bought my daughter a copy just to not have to deal with any licensing crap.
I can not get it to run at all.
My little girl loves Spore more then I do. Hence buying her a computer and a copy of Spore.
Atomiccell77


Microbe

Joined: 09/12/2008 02:30:17
Messages: 51
Location:
West Bend, Wisconsin

Offline

Spore runs pretty well on my vista. perhaps you ran into a bad disk or maybe the computer isn't good enough. are you running a 64bit or a 32 bit vista on the daughters pc?
aim icon [MSN]
bakersx3


Microbe

Joined: 12/20/2008 21:47:53
Messages: 6
Offline

64 bit that I am aware of.
I have my copy that I have running on my Mac and a brand new copy we bought tonight and neither are working. I am reinstalling it now for the 6th time.
Atomiccell77


Microbe

Joined: 09/12/2008 02:30:17
Messages: 51
Location:
West Bend, Wisconsin

Offline

hmm thats wierd. I don't know what else to tell you. did you install the download manager thing.
aim icon [MSN]
bakersx3


Microbe

Joined: 12/20/2008 21:47:53
Messages: 6
Offline

got a d3dx9_27.dll error whenever I try to open Spore. I think it has to do with the Directx9.0c not installing. I have Directx10 on there, may have to call tech support for Spore tomorrow.
Anyone else run across the same problem?
hattrickster


Spacefaring Sporeling

Joined: 10/31/2008 23:13:06
Messages: 5213
Offline

I run it on Direct X 10, so I have no clue

aim icon
SporeMasterKaliena


Spore Master

Joined: 09/09/2008 23:28:48
Messages: 10032
Location:
Virginia, USA

Offline

One user reports that save games can cause the problem. I know it's a fresh install, however try renaming the Spore folder within AppData and see if the error still occurs.

http://pcsupport.about.com/od/findbyerrormessage/a/d3dx9_27dll-dll.htm
Note: Are you a Windows Vista user with DirectX 10? Your game or program may still need DirectX 9 files to run properly so give the installation a try. Don't worry, both versions of DirectX can be run side by side in Windows Vista.


Base on that I would install directx9 directly from Microsoft, bypass the cd.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 12/22/2008 04:48:39






bakersx3


Microbe

Joined: 12/20/2008 21:47:53
Messages: 6
Offline

I try, but it says that it can not install because another program is using it.
Then it gives me the installation failed window.
SporeMasterKaliena


Spore Master

Joined: 09/09/2008 23:28:48
Messages: 10032
Location:
Virginia, USA

Offline

Ahah, you must have a program running that is blocking the install.

Worst case download the installer and try running it in safe mode. First try closing every program possible including virus scanners, etc.





bakersx3


Microbe

Joined: 12/20/2008 21:47:53
Messages: 6
Offline

Problem fixed.
Had to turn off the gadgets, and end their porcess in the task manager. Then I had to down load the DirectX (fix for Directx 9.0c) and install.
Working now.
Thanks for everyones help.
I got the Directx download from the Microsoft.com web page, search DirectX.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 12/22/2008 05:27:51

Asltjep


Microbe

Joined: 08/29/2009 06:56:47
Messages: 1
Offline

HERE IS A FIX

I am running win7, before and after installing any of my ATI drivers I got this error. I actually had the .dll on my machine somewhere (cant remember now); I copied it to C:program/ea/spore/sporebin and it worked, it ran fine. I changed nothing else. Happy Sporing!
Alildevil


Microbe

Joined: 01/19/2010 09:42:22
Messages: 1
Offline

Thx Asltjep, that fixed my problem.

I Google'd for "d3dx9_27.dll" and found the dll, just dropped it in my sporebin folder and now game is working fine, on WIn 7 64bit version.
 
Forum Index » Spore Help
Go to:   
 
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © ( EA Dev Build 2013-06-21 16:12:06 ) JForum Team