The Sporum - The Official Spore Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
[Login] Login 
Stuck while using the Spore API? Post a question  XML
Forum Index » Developer Corner
Author Message
impiaaa


Microbe

Joined: 10/04/2008 21:00:10
Messages: 41
Offline

SirFluffyBunny wrote:A few questions:
1. What time zone are the dates in? I assume GMT, but it is possible that they are that of the uploader.
2. Is there a way to get the sporecasts that a user created, not what they've subscribed to?
3. Could you fix the problem with non-ASCII characters? It appears that they either turn into their extended ASCII equivalents, or into a question mark, which as you can imagine, is quite a problem. I'd reccomend either making the feeds use UTF-16, or use XML escape sequences.
Thanks!

Edit: hm, it appears that I've accidentally logged into my little brother's account. I'm really impiaaa.

Good, I logged in correctly this time.
[WWW]
impiaaa


Microbe

Joined: 10/04/2008 21:00:10
Messages: 41
Offline

impiaaa wrote:
Good, I logged in correctly this time.

*bump* MaxisAnybody? Help?

The boatcake is coming for you…
[WWW]
SniperMonkey


Multicellular

Joined: 09/12/2008 03:10:04
Messages: 143
Offline

Within the creature block API, why is there the same block with multiple ids?

http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/creatureblockmap.xml


The above code shows that the "Cury Coif" block has two ids 0x7930b1a3 and 0x81b3a005
[WWW]
MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

Note how the <id> fields are different

Those two blocks are the symmetric opposites of each other.
In the editor when you put a part down, it creates a symmetric part for you.
Hence they both map to the same type of part, but one corresponds to the left version and one to the right.
SniperMonkey


Multicellular

Joined: 09/12/2008 03:10:04
Messages: 143
Offline

I can't find images associated with the above blocks. Am I missing something?
[WWW]
MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

For some reason those platonic blocks are there as
BE_platonic_07.png (lower case p)
I'll make sure I fix that in the map.
The movement default and grasper default pics don't exist... I'll add them

Thanks for finding this.
MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

Ok, this should be fixed.
All part filenames are now fully lowercase and all the files have been renamed.
Your previous stuff should work as usual (since both the map and the files have been changed)

I also added the default movement and grasper parts.
SniperMonkey


Multicellular

Joined: 09/12/2008 03:10:04
Messages: 143
Offline

MaxisDangerousYams wrote:Ok, this should be fixed.
All part filenames are now fully lowercase and all the files have been renamed.
Your previous stuff should work as usual (since both the map and the files have been changed)

I also added the default movement and grasper parts.


I am seeing a ton more missing images. Here are some examples:


Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_weapons_04.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_effects_06.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_effects_11.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_effects_20.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_effects_24.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_effects_25.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_04.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_08.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_12.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_15.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_shapes_02.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_shapes_03.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_details_shapes_09.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_landcraft_23.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/ve_chassis_air_01.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_details_chimney_05.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_details_themed_03.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_platonic_06.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_connector_platonic_02.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_platonic_05.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_details_chimney_07.png"
Error opening URL "http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/thumbs/be_platonic_08.png"

EDIT:
Looks like the filename are lowercase but the images have not.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 05/22/2009 04:56:02

[WWW]
LanceBattler


Multicellular

Joined: 09/22/2008 18:57:24
Messages: 125
Offline

What version of Visual Basic are you guys using, the newest?
I use VB 6.0 and I was wondering if it's just as good, or do I need a more up to date version?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 05/25/2009 18:11:51




JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

Maxis Dudes (Dudettes)..

I have another idea for a game, but needed the vehicle stats to make it work... Any chance that feed might become available?
MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

Hi SniperMonkey,
There seems to be some problem with the rename operation that I did.
We are working on getting that resolved.
MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

Hey JoeyBagofDonuts,
What we can add is a list of capability stats to this block map
http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/vehicleblockmap.xml

You can then generate your own stats per vehicle by looking up the parts in that vehicle from it's XML and creating your own stat formula.

Would that work for you?
JoeyBagOfDonuts


Microbe

Joined: 09/13/2008 12:08:12
Messages: 34
Offline

MaxisDangerousYams wrote:Hey JoeyBagofDonuts,
What we can add is a list of capability stats to this block map
http://www.spore.com/data/blocks/vehicleblockmap.xml

You can then generate your own stats per vehicle by looking up the parts in that vehicle from it's XML and creating your own stat formula.

Would that work for you?


It might... It isn't there yet, right? I would like see what it looks like. What about if you added the capabilities map to the vehicle (where the only items that show up are the ones that are on the respective vehicle)? I don't mind coming up with my own formula for stats, but it might be a pain to cross reference it with the blockmap

I noticed you also have a buildingblockmap as well... I don't think you could add it to that feed as buildings really don't have capabilities, right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/29/2009 21:56:05

MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

SniperMonkey, those should all be fixed now!
Sorry for the breakage and thanks for spotting it.
MaxisDangerousYams


Multicellular

Joined: 10/20/2008 18:30:28
Messages: 141
Offline

JoeyBagofDonuts,
Buildings don't have any capabilities.
But they do have aesthetic tags for all the parts. This could let you write an app that finds buildings with similar aesthetics (all domed buildings etc.)

Vehicle capabilities will look like this per part
Speed
Defense
Power - military, economic, religious
They are not in the maps right now.

Cross referencing is not that much of a pain
Adding a vehicle stats service would be nice but I don't think the team has bandwidth to provide that at the moment.
 
Forum Index » Developer Corner
Go to:   
 
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © ( EA Dev Build 2018-04-13 15:37:55 ) JForum Team